Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture Paletteđź–¤


An essential eyeshadow collection, Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture Palette features 14 shades that range from grungy mattes to bold metallics with an underground edge.

There have been an overwhelming amount of new makeup launches in the past year and a lot of it-particularly the eyeshadow palettes are all starting to look the same. But when I first saw the pictures of the Subculture palette I knew I had to have it! It has steered off the path of all the neutral, warm shades and is a cool mix of dark shades, yellows, and colorful blues and greens. This is my first experience with ABH eyeshadows!

(image: @Trendmood1 https://instagram.com/p/BW8tKxXlL9Z/)

Product: Subculture ($42) is in the same size and style of the Modern Renaissance palette. The outside is that same fuzzy texture that can easily get dirty, but maybe the darker blue color will help with that. This definitely caught my attention because of the darker “grungy” shades and the beautiful yellows. The dual-ended brush included has a fluffy crease brush and a flat eyelid brush and is really good quality.

There are 14 shades:         


 Application: All of the shades are extremely pigmented and soft. The two duochrome shades do need water to show up more and I had the most trouble with building up Cube (the first shade) to opacity even with applying wet. There is kickback with some shades especially Fudge (matte brown shade) but that doesn’t bother me too much. My Lorac Pro is one of my most pigmented palettes and it kicks up product as well. I just lightly dip my brush in and tap out the excess back into the pan. These blend very well when you use a light hand and I think you can create many different and unique looks with this one palette.

Edit: I’ve recently seen some reviews where they’ve had trouble with blending and patchiness. But I haven’t experienced that so far. On ABH’s ig stories they explain how with how soft these are you need to pick up very little and start blending in with a light hand and that patches form when you press hard with the brush. This is how I’ve been using it and so far so good.

I know these aren’t the neatest swatches but these were done with a brush over primer. The 2 duochromes and 1 metallic are swatched dry then foiled w/water. As you can see these are extremely pigmented! (L-R; 1st row-2nd row) 


5 thoughts on “Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture Paletteđź–¤

  1. I’m considering this one. My dad sent me a JC Penney gift card for my bday (which is next week) and you can use those in the Sephora in JCP. I’ve hardly bought any new makeup in months (been amazingly behaving) so I think I need to treat myself to something.

Leave a Reply

