Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer 

Details

  • $27, 1 oz./30 mL
  • 20 shades
  • Oil-free; Natural-matte finish
  • Full coverage 

Clinique says: A foundation-and -concealer in one for a natural, beyond perfected look that lasts all day. Lightweight, moisturizing makeup covers thoroughly without clogging pores. Skin breathes comfortably, colour stays true, even through sweat and humidity.

Due to the rich pigment level that enhances this flawless coverage makeup, shades may appear deeper when first applied. Once blended completely and allowed to dry, Beyond Perfecting Makeup will melt into your skin for a Beyond Perfected flawless look. A little goes a long way!

Product: This foundation comes in a simple, glass bottle with a large wand applicator. It has a medium consistency that takes a couple of minutes to dry. There are 20 shades in the line but I highly recommend finding your shade in person because the names are a little tricky and many of them seem to have pink undertones. There isn’t a very strong smell to it at all and it gives a full coverage finish without any heaviness. For being a ‘high-end’ foundation it is actually a lot cheaper than most other foundations you’ll find in Sephora.

Application: I’ve tested this foundation out for weeks now and it truly does last all day with minimal to no budging including in heat and humidity. It is full coverage but not heavy and spot conceals without getting cakey. It is recommended for “very dry to oily combination skin types” now, I have combo-dry skin and I never use a powder over this foundation. I didn’t get oily overtime, although will look slightly dewy. My mom who has oily skin has tried this without any powder and became extremely oily not much later, I applied a translucent powder (Ben Nye Neutral Set) on her the next time she wore it and she was matte and flawless all day. (1 layer over moisturizer + spot concealed)

I have also noticed that when first applied it may look a little heavy, but once it fully dries it seems to sink into the skin and just looks like flawless skin. Best application for me has been with a flat top kabuki style brush and a beauty blender over moisturizer. I first tested a sample in Neutral and even though I fell in love with the quality the “neutral” shade was too pink for me. I ended up buying the full size in Golden Neutral which is much more yellow and matches my chest and neck. This is one of the first Clinique products I’ve tried and it’s already become a holy grail foundation.

If you’ve tried this foundation out before let me know how it worked for you!

Leave a Reply

