Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Water Foundation spf 15

I’m on the hunt for a new foundation and have heard and seen some pretty good reviews on this one. I’m looking for one that has buildable/full coverage, is long lasting, and just looks like flawless skin. 

Tarte says: “A lightweight, full coverage hydrating foundation infused with tarte’s Rainforest of the Sea complex and non-chemical SPF 15 sunscreen.”

Product: This foundation (30 mL/1 fl oz., $39) comes in a pretty frosted glass bottle with an ombré dropper cap. According to Tarte you need 1-2 drops for light coverage and 3-4 drops for medium/full coverage. There are only 12 shades in this line.

Application: I got a sample of the shade ‘light-medium beige’ and the consistency of this is very watery and lightweight. I’ve been testing this foundation for a couple of weeks now and I’m not a fan. When first applied (looks best with a Beauty Blender) the finish is actually really nice and sort of a demi-matte. Within 2-3 hours, the foundation starts to separate very obviously around the t-zone, even if I got just slighty oily. Meanwhile, the drier parts of my face became more emphasized. This happened every time I wore it and I was just overall dissapointed in how the foundation performed. 

Overall: Likes- I like the bottle and packaging as well as the dropper top. The finish I get right after it’s applied is very flawless and a semi-matte, dewy finish. 

Dislikes- It’s not long lasting at all and at least for my skin it becomes patchy. Needless to say I will not be purchasing the full size! Have you tried this foundation before?

Leave a Reply

